• Literacy Overview



    The Wydown Literacy Program integrates reading strategies and literature appreciation with formal and informal writing assignments and small and whole class discussions. Each year students study 2-3 core texts through the lens of an essential question(s), engage in independent reading opportunities, and explore different genres (including poetry, non-fiction, and short stories).  In addition, with the help of the building’s Writing Interns, students draft and conference a variety of writing pieces including poetry, literary essays, personal narratives, and creative writing.    


    Sixth Grade

    Core Texts:

    1.             Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins

    2.               Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

    3.             Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls


    Essential Question:

    1.             Why do people behave the way they do?

    2.             How can a person's decisions and actions change his/her life and affect the lives of others?


    Seventh Grade

    Core Texts:

    1.             The Giver by Lois Lowry

    2.             The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton


    Essential Questions

    1.             Who is considered to have value?

        2.      How are some people considered more valuable than others?



    Eighth Grade

    Core Texts:

    1.             Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

    2.             To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

    3.             Twelve Angry Men by Reginald Rose


    Essential Questions

    1.             What is the role of a responsible citizen within his/her own society?


Last Modified on October 9, 2018