Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholars Honored at Board of Education Meeting

On Wednesday, Feb. 19, the Board of Education honored 21 Clayton High School students who have been named 2020 National Merit Scholars! The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the program each year. 


Juniors who take the PSAT are automatically entered in the National Merit Scholarship competition. If their PSAT score is high enough to qualify, they receive a designation as either a Commended or Semifinalist student.


The top 1.25 percent of test takers become National Merit Semifinalists, and the next 3 percent are Commended Students and receive an honorary certificate. Fourteen CHS seniors are Semifinalists in the 2020 Scholarship Competition while seven students have been named as Commended Students. 


These 21 students represent over nine percent of the senior class, which is more than three times the national average.


Please offer a congratulations to these students for this achievement:


Richard Cheng - Semifinalist

Danielle Choo-Kang - Semifinalist

Ashley Chung - Semifinalist

Borna Dianati - Semifinalist

Peter Humphreys - Semifinalist

Cicely Krutsch - Semifinalist

Nicholas Lenz - Semifinalist

Leah Levenson - Semifinalist

Myles McCarthy - Semifinalist

Krish Sardesai - Semifinalist

Mary Snelling - Semifinalist

Charles Steinbaum - Semifinalist

Erik Tomasson - Semifinalist

Bridget Walsh - Semifinalist

Samuel Bernstein - Commended Student

Tucker Hall - Commended Student

Wynne Havranek - Commended Student

Emilio Rosas Linhard - Commended Student

Saniya Sah - Commended Student

Junyi Su - Commended Student

Tyler Sucher - Commended Student