Return to Headlines

Nine Seniors Named National Merit Finalists

Nine Clayton High School seniors have been named Finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program, with two of those students earning scholarships through the program.

  • David Chung
  • Cooper Kennelly
  • Erin Kotzbauer
  • Michail Leontiev
  • Fiona McCarthy
  • Owen St. Germain
  • Alexander Szabo
  • Elizabeth Szabo
  • Tong Zhao

These students have been named Finalists based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. Of these Finalists, David and Tong have earned National Merit scholarships.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools across the country entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Clayton High School had 11 students selected as Semifinalists, and 11 students were named Commended Students in this year’s program. Nationally, about three percent of students who take the PSAT qualify for recognition. The 22 students from CHS represent more than 12 percent of the senior class, which is four times the national average. Nationally, less than one percent of all students make the cut to become semifinalists. CHS' 11 semifinalists represent five percent of the class of 2018.

The National Merit Scholarship Program will be announcing two additional rounds of scholarships for Finalists in June and July through its College-Sponsored Merit Awards program.