• Science Department



    While the state graduation requirement in science is three units, most Clayton High School students enroll in science all four years. Our courses are laboratory oriented and are organized to give students experiences in collecting, analyzing, and interpreting data. In addition to learning content information, our students deepen their conceptual understanding of science through the pursuit of inquiry-based investigations and gain appreciation for the way scientists work and arrive at generalizations about natural phenomena.
     

    Our sequence of courses includes:

    9th grade: Foundations of Physics, Freshman Physics, or Honors Freshman Physics
     
    10th grade: Foundations of Chemistry, Chemistry, or Honors Chemistry
     
    11th grade: Foundations of Biology, Biology, Honors Biology, or AP Biology; students may also enroll in junior / senior science electives.
     
    12th grade: students may choose from a wide variety of AP science courses and / or junior / senior science electives. 
     
    * Course enrollment is based on teacher recommendation and / or collaboration between teachers, parents, and counselors.
     
    * Completing each of our core science classes (Physics, Chemistry, and Biology) is required.  Exceptions require departmental approval.
     

    Department Faculty
    e-mail
    Phone    
    Jennifer Adams jenniferadams@claytonschools.net
    854-6827
    Adam Bergeron adambergeron@claytonschools.net
    854-6079
    Bradford Buck bradfordbuck@claytonschools.net
    854-6885
    K-12 Coordinator 
    charlescollis@claytonschools.net
    854-6761
    Gabe De La Paz gabrieldelapaz@claytonschools.net
    854-6828
    Sarah Falkoff
    sarahfalkoff@claytonschools.net
    854-6681
    Brad Krone bradkrone@claytonschools.net
    854-6073
    Rob Laux
    robertlaux@claytonschools.net
    854-6883
    Susan Murray susanmurray@claytonschools.net
    854-6074
    Science Department Chair
    nathanpeck@claytonschools.net
    854-6763
    Mike Sankey mikesankey@claytonschools.net 854-6886
    David Schuster davidschuster@claytonschools.net 854-6882
    Craig Sucher craigsucher@claytonschools.net
    854-6890
    Doug Verby dougverby@claytonschools.net
    854-6888
     
     
Last Modified on August 6, 2019