• Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Waiver
    The U.S. Department of Education approved Missouri’s Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) waiver in June 2012, allowing the state to move away from using annual benchmarks, referred to as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), established by the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and use one aligned system of accountability for school districts. Since 2002, Missouri schools and districts had been held accountable to both the state’s Missouri School Improvement Program (MSIP) and the requirements of NCLB. Implementing these dual systems simultaneously generated confusion for schools and the public, especially when reports from each system produce conflicting results. With NCLB, a school either did or did not meet AYP, resulting in an accountability system that did not differentiate among the lowest performing schools and schools that needed help in only one or a few areas.

    Missouri’s ESEA waiver took effect in the 2012-2013 school year and will remain in place for three years. At that point, the state may request an extension of the waiver. Once Congress passes the next reauthorization of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act, the reauthorized law would take priority over Missouri’s waiver.

    Missouri School Improvement Program – Fifth Version (MSIP 5)

    Missouri’s single statewide system of accountability for all schools took effect in the 2012-2013 school year following the U.S. Department of Education’s approval of Missouri’s Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) waiver in June 2012. The waiver allows the Missouri School Improvement Program (MSIP) to replace the annual benchmarks established by the No Child Left Behind Act. MSIP began in 1990 and entered its fifth version in 2013 – MSIP 5. By focusing on higher academic standards and continuous improvement at the school- and district-level, MSIP 5 will help Missouri to more effectively identify and direct resources to struggling schools while recognizing schools achieving exemplary results.

    Through MSIP, a district's annual performance report (APR) is used to assess the appropriate supports and interventions needed at the school and district level. The new MSIP 5 system will be used during the State’s annual look at district performance and, ultimately, to determine accreditation. The performance standards used to establish a district’s APR include:
    • Academic Achievement
    • Subgroup Achievement
    • College and Career Readiness
    • Attendance Rate
    • Graduation Rate
    Three APRs, reflecting three years of performance data, will be used for classification recommendations. The 2014 APR, which was published during the summer of 2014, is the second MSIP 5 APR that will be used to inform district classification recommendations. Clayton earned 136.5 out of a possible 140 points for a score of 97.5 percent on its 2014 APR. Accreditation classifications under MSIP 5 will be determined in the fall of 2015 following the release of this year’s APRs.
    School District of Clayton 2014 MSIP 5 Performance
     MSIP 5 Standards
     Possible Points
     Points Earned
     Percent Earned
     Academic Achievement
     56.0  56.0
     Subgroup Achievement
     14.0  10.5
     College and Career
     30.0  30.0  100%
     Attendance Rate
     10.0  10.0  100%
     Graduation Rate
     30.0  30.0  100%
     Total  140.0  136.5  97.5%