Return to Headlines

2024 National Merit Scholars Semifinalists

Fourteen CHS Seniors have been named as National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) Semifinalists in the Sixty-Ninth annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Nationally, less than one percent of all students make the cut to become semifinalists. The 14 Semifinalists at CHS represent more than seven percent of the class of 2024. Over 16,000 Semifinalists were named this year. Congratulations to the following students (listed alphabetically by last name):


  • Rachel Chung

  • Alexandra Cohen
  • Joseph Cooper
  • Carter Davis
  • Marina Hagedorn
  • Tiana He
  • Sophia Lu
  • Hannah Moon
  • Katherine Perrin
  • Penelope Riswadkar
  • Charles Rubin
  • Evan Vallo
  • Kipp Vitsky
  • Delia Zacks


These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships that will be offered next spring. 


To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. 


Click here to read more about the program. 


NMSC, National Merit, Merit Scholarship, Merit Scholar are federally registered service marks of National Merit Scholarship Corporation.